Presenting the Comal ISD Campus Teachers of the Year for 2021-2022

May 26, 2022 - The Comal Independent School District is proud to announce its campus teachers of the year for the 2021-2022 school year. These 33 teachers were nominated by their colleagues and have earned their respect and praise.

This year’s campus teachers of the year truly showcase the diversity of teaching from classroom teachers including kindergarten, first, second and third grade to Spanish immersion and bilingual teachers, career and technology teachers, as well as music, art and special education teachers.

The 2021-2022 Comal ISD Campus Teachers of the Year are listed here by campus. They will be honored in the fall during the annual Night of Stars event.

Comal ISD Elementary Teachers of the Year

  • Arlon Seay ES – Erin Young, fourth grade, English language arts and social studies
  • Bill Brown ES – Amanda Perez, special education
  • Clear Spring ES – Suzanne Campos, first grade
  • Freiheit ES – Laura Clifton, fourth grade, special education
  • Garden Ridge ES - Kathryn Guerra, behavior support
  • Goodwin Frazier ES – Christi Garcia, kindergarten
  • Hoffmann Lane ES – Adam Voglewede, art
  • Indian Springs ES – Christa Scogna, third grade
  • Johnson Ranch ES - Danielle Tapp, kindergarten
  • Kinder Ranch ES – Alma Joers, bilingual third grade
  • Morningside ES – Jennifer Hayes, gifted and talented
  • Mountain Valley ES – Amber Hanson, behavior
  • Oak Creek ES – Whitney Oefinger, fifth grade science
  • Rahe Bulverde ES – Anna Castello, fourth grade Spanish Immersion
  • Rebecca Creek ES – Jennifer Horne, music
  • Specht ES – Kaitlyn Howerton, third grade
  • Startzville ES – Tracy Buxkemper, second grade math and science
  • Timberwood Park ES – Katie Tyler, special education

 Comal ISD Secondary Campus Teachers of the Year

  • Canyon High – Tanya Livingston, business, career and technical educatioon
  • Canyon Lake High – Rosalind Witcher, chemistry and physics
  • Canyon Middle – Kiera Craft, special education
  • Church Hill Middle – Kristi Lindsay, eighth-grade U.S. history
  • Comal Discipline Center – Alishea Cuellar, career and technical education
  • Danville Middle – Beth Norman, eighth-grade science
  • Davenport High – Megan Schaffer, English and coach
  • Hill Country College Preparatory High – Jennifer Fey, English
  • Memorial Early College High – Jeffrey Trott, social studies
  • Mountain Valley Middle – Ronald Fey, eighth-grade science
  • Pieper High – Spencer Cox, English
  • Pieper Ranch Middle – Anna Multach, seventh-grade science
  • Spring Branch Middle – Mitch Odom, health and coach
  • Smithson Valley High – Dena Saunders, U.S. history
  • Smithson Valley Middle – Allison Hallmark, eighth-grade science and gifted and talented